Transatlantic -
An Evening With Transatlantic, Whirld Tour 2010

(CD/DVD 2010, 79:52/67:29/36:03/147/190 min, Inside Out 0505429)

The tracks:
  1- The Whirlwind(79:52)
CD 2:
  1- All Of The Above(30:19)
  2- We All Need Some Light(8:40)
  3- Duel With The Devil(28:31)
  1- Bridge Across Forever(6:03)
  2- Stranger In Your Soul(30:00)
  1- The Whirlwind(79:52)
  2- All Of The Above(30:19)
  3- We All Need Some Light(8:40)
  4- Duel With The Devil(28:31)
  1- Bridge Across Forever(6:03)
  2- Stranger In Your Soul(30:00)
  3- Documentary
  4- Band Interviews

Transatlantic Website        Inside Out Records

This truly is one of the best prog rock releases I've ever watched and listened to in my entire life. Transatlantic consisting of Roine Stolt (Flower Kings, Agents Of Mercy) , Pete Trewavas (Marillion), Neal Morse (ex-Spock's Beard) and Mike Portnoy (ex- Dream Theater) set new standards with this amazing CD/DVD-release. The album has been recorded in the Shepherd's Bush Empire, London in April 2009 and all the tracks on the DVD's as well as on the CD's are outstanding. It has been nine years since these four guys have played together, but this band is so tight that it's almost impossible to play better prog rock music.

The gig starts with the epic The Whirlwind, a musical rollercoaster with a running time of more than 79 minutes! The live version is even better that the studio version, which is hard to imagine, but it's true anyway. Next on the first DVD are All Of The Above, We All Need Some Light - a semi-acoustic duet of Roine Stolt and Neal Morse - and Duel With The Devil. These four songs left me completely flabbergasted and there's still more to come. On the second DVD you can witness Bridge Across Forever and Stranger In Your Soul. Furthermore we are treated to the Genesis-classic The Return Of The Giant Hogweed featuring Steve Hackett. Last but not least there's a documentary and you can enjoy interviews with the band members. This is almost a compulsory purchase for prog lovers as all the songs are played very well; you'll see and hear a flawless performance. These guys know how to entertain a prog rock audience and Daniel Gildenl÷w does an almost perfect job being the fifth Transatlantic-member.

Normally I'm not such a big fan of music DVD's, but this one is of such a high standard that I can sit and watch this show endlessly... I would advise you to buy the de-luxe version so that you can enjoy everything that this wonderful concert has to offer. This release is certainly not to be missed.

***** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013