Pendragon -
Out Of Order Comes Chaos

(DVD 2012, 230 min, Metal Mind Productions MMP DVD 0197)

The tracks:
  1- Passion
  2- Back In The Spotlight
  3- Ghosts
  4- Not Of This World
  5- Comatose
  6- If I Were The Wind
  7- Freakshow
  8- Empathy
  9- This Green And Pleasant Land
10- Shane
11- Feeding Frenzy
12- Nostradamus
13- Last Man On Earth
14- Indigo
15- Prayer
16- Paintbox
DVD Extras:
17- Interview with Nick Barrett
         - ...Some of the Order
         - ...Some of the Chaos
18- Biography
19- Discography
20- Photo Gallery
21- Desktop Images

Pendragon Website        Metal Mind Productions

This brand new DVD by Pendragon, one of the best British neo-progressive rock bands, has been recorded again at the Wyspianski Theatre in Katowice, Poland in April 2011. The show lasts for more than two and a half hours containing  sixteen tracks. In fact the set list is a journey through time as you can enjoy classics like Paintbox from the album The Masquerade Overture (1996), Shane, Prayer and Back In The Spotlight from The World (1991) and Not Of This World and If I Were The Wind from Not Of This World (2001).

Furthermore the band treats the audience to Indigo and This Green And Pleasant Land, songs from their latest two albums Pure (2008, see review) and Passion (2011, see review). I think that these songs are the best on this DVD. The band, still consisting of Nick Barrett (vocals, guitars), Peter Gee (bass, additional keyboards), Clive Nolan (keyboards, backing vocals) and Scott Higham (drums) is in great shape and the sound on Out Of Order Comes Chaos is really remarkable, which means crystal clear and spot on! Especially the guitar solos of Barrett in Empathy, Shane, Indigo and Not Of This World are not of this world. After the 'we-want-more's' in Polish of course, the band played three encores: the marvellous Indigo, Prayer and last but not least the classic and magical Paintbox, ending this gig in class!

The DVD also includes a video documentary about the band, life on tour and a section containing 'behind the scenes' footage and some more rather redundant stuff. For the first time in the history of Pendragon this DVD is also available as a Blu-Ray disc. Out Of Order Comes Chaos is one of the best DVDs I've seen and heard lately; it's even better than their predecessor Concerto Maximo. Therefore it's a must have for all devotees of outstanding melodic neo-prog!

***** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013