Porcupine Tree - Anesthetize

(DVD 2010, 130,32, Skope 506)

The tracks:
  1- Intro(2.07)
  2- Fear of a Blank Planet(7.34)
  3- My Ashes(4.46)
  4- Anesthetize(17.20)
  5- Sentimental(5.18)
  6- Way Out of Here(7.47)
  7- Sleep Together(7.54)
  8- What Happens Now?(8.09)
  9- Normal(7.13)
10- Dark Matter(8.57)
11- Drown With Me(5.21)
12- Cheating the Polygraph(8.11)
13- Half Light(5.28)
14- Sever(5.37)
15- Wedding Nails(5.43)
16- Strip the Soul / Dot Three(8.17)
17- Sleep of No Dreaming(5.31)
18- Halo(6.34)
19- Outro(2.00)

Porcupine Tree Website        samples       

This is without any doubt, one of the best DVD’s I have ever seen and heard. Last year Porcupine Tree released their latest album called The Incident and now we are being treated to an amazing DVD. It was recorded in high definition on multi-cameras over two nights in Tilburg (NL) in October 2008 and this DVD collects the highlights from the two shows.

Well, what can I say, the sound is superb, the show is amazing and the set list is really incredible. The band kicks off with the six tracks from the Fear Of A Blank Planet album, with Anesthetize being the absolute highlight. From the EP Nil Recurring Wilson & Co play Normal, Cheating The Polygraph and What Happens Now. Then it is also time for some old and rather “unknown” PT songs, like e.g.: Strip The Soul/Dot Three or The Sleep Of No Dreaming from one of their best albums, namely: Signify.  From Steven’s favourite album In Absentia, we only hear one song, namely Wedding Nails. After more than two hours, the show ends with Halo and you will be tempted to press the repeat button and enjoy the entire concert once more…. The only point of criticism I have is the fact that Wesley sings too much, especially his lead vocals in My Ashes are not that good and should have been done by Wilson himself. But the rest of this DVD is sheer magic. Buy or die, this is a MUST have!!

***** Martien Koolen (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013