Wolfspring - Wolfspring

(CD 2010, 56:35, Prog Rock Records PRR 800)

The tracks:
  1- The Haunting(6:28)
  2- 24/7(5:47)
  3- Carpathian Wolves(4:57)
  4- Train's Gone(7:19)
  5- Now Or Never(6:42)
  6- Mutation(5:54)
  7- Howling With The Banshee(7:00)
  8- Our New MediaEvil World(12:25)

Wolfspring Website        ProgRock Records

Wolfspring are a new French progressive rock/metal band founded by Jean Pierre Louveton who is also known as the guitar player and singer from Nemo. This eponymous debut album is truly guitar oriented and features lots of interesting and melodic guitar solos. The music is a mixture of classic prog rock and metal elements. You can hear musical characteristics from Genesis and Pink Floyd in combination with Louvetonís own musical ideas from his work with Nemo. The music on this album has many moods, different atmospheres and symphonic musical parts, but you can also enjoy clever melodic rock and excellent vocal passages.

Louveton shows some of his best guitar passages in songs like The Haunting or Howling With The Banshees. The latter being one of the two instrumental pieces on this album. Carpathian Wolves is the other one which is at the same time one of the heaviest tracks of the album. My personal favourites are The Haunting and Trainís Gone: pure prog rock songs with great vocals, nice melodies and really sublime and soothing musical movements. Wolfspring really surprise me with this album; highly recommended for true prog rock lovers!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013