Uriah Heep -
Demons And Wizards

(2CD 2017/ 1972, 39:17/ 67:41, BMG)

The tracks:
  1- The Wizard(3:00)
  2- Traveller In Time(3:25)
  3- Easy Livin'(2:37)
  4- Poet's Justice(4:15)
  5- Circle Of Hands(6:25)
  6- Rainbow Demon(4:25)
  7- All My Life(2:44)
  8- Paradise(5:10)
  9- The Spell(7:31)
  1- Easy Livin'(2:37)
  2- Rainbow Demon(6:11)
  3- Traveller In Time(3:48)
  4- Paradise(5:26)
  5- The Spell(8:10)
  6- All My Life(3:09)
  7- Home Again To You(4:51)
  8- Why(13:44)
  9- The Wizard(3:04)
10- Poet's Justice(4:40)
11- Circle Of Hands(8:06)
12- Proud Words(2:52)
13- Green Eye(4:04)
14- Why(4:45)

Website      facebook     

Some people call Demons And Wizards Uriah Heep's best album ever and it certainly was a very important album for the band itself. Heep's fourth album featured the most talented and most accomplished line up of the band for the first time; so with Gary Thain on bass and Lee Kerslake on drums. Demons And Wizards was also the first Heep album for which the band wrote fantasy lyrics and it was the first Heep album with a cover designed by Roger Dean (Yes).

Demons And Wizards contains their biggest hit Easy Livin', a song everyone has heard once in his life. However the album features better tracks like Traveller In Time, The Wizard, Circle Of Hands and The Spell. Traveller In Time and Circle Of Hands became live staples for the band and one can say that the entire album is a classic of its genre. Demons And Wizards was also a commercial success, making the UK top 20 and earning a gold record in the USA. This remastered edition features a bonus CD with 14 never before released alternative versions of Heep songs, of which All My Life, Home Again To You, Why, Proud Words and Green Eye are the most interesting. The extended booklet contains lots of extra information about the songs and also contains notes of guitarist Mick Box and keyboard player Ken Hensley about Heep's most notorious album.

Demons And Wizards is an absolute essential album for any fan of this musical genre; a very influential album that cannot be overlooked or ignored.

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2017