Jean-Jacques Toussaint -
From Tiemko To Travelling

(CD 2008, 63:24, Musea FGBG 4789)

The tracks:
  1- The 95(7:21)
  2- Ballade Sur Un Nuage(3:02)
  3- Malthus(5:26)
  4- Passage(9:22)
  5- Petite Symphonie Mécanique(6:06)
  6- Les Mille Et Une Pattes(3:38)
  7- American Gang(5:12)
  8- Cartoune(2:51)
  9- Traveling(7:13)
10- Hier Sera Comme Demain(1:20)
11- Volutes(2:26)
12- Orient(8:00)
13- Qui Sait ?(1:21)

Toussaint Website        samples        Musea Records

This album by French keyboard player Jean-Jacques Toussaint is completely instrumental. If you like experimental progressive jazz rock with lots of horns then this might be an interesting album for you. The opening track The 95 is rather jazzy with funky horns, saxophone and some guitar passages that remind me sometimes of good old Dutch band Alquin. Ballade Sur Un Nuage is a piano ballad with a trumpet solo and Passage is a rather tiresome, experimental, spacy song, which is the trendsetter for the rest of the album. Jean-Jacques Toussaint is not really my cup of tea. His music is characterized by jazzy and experimental pieces, too much horns and saxophones and too little prog rock guitars.

** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013