TNNE - Life 3.0

(CD 2023, 42:36, Progressive Promotion Records)

The tracks:
  1- The Net(3:45)
  2- Dreaming Awake(13:28)
  3- No Man's Land(8:17)
  4- Behind The Mirror(7:08)
  5- Heavenly Visions(7:52)
  6- Harvest(2:06)

Website      samples      facebook     

After a six years hiatus TNNE (The No Name Experience), the legendary prog rock band from Luxembourg, returns with a magnificent new album called: Life 3.0.

It features six neo prog tracks with lots of melody, diversity and most of all very “dominating” guitar melodies and solos, which are played by newcomer Cedric Gilis. Just listen to the excellent opening track The Net, with an awesome melodic guitar solo at the two minutes mark! By the way Life 3.0 is a concept album, based upon the science fiction novel City Of Golden Shadows by best selling sci-fi author Tad Williams. Dreaming Awake, the longest song of the album, is filled with extraordinary guitar passages and solos while the lead vocals of Patrick Kiefer are, sad but true, rather mediocre and kind of tiresome sometimes. No Man's Land opens with synths, keys, spoken lyrics and cinematic sounds and melodies, followed again by awesome guitar work and this one has obvious RPWL characteristics indeed. Behind The Mirror is melodic prog rock at its best and really gives me goosebumps due to the sublime guitar solo in the middle of the track (5:03 till 5:43); awesome indeed! This excellent melodic album ends with the instrumental Harvest which is again a showcase for guitar picker Gilis as he plays a David Gilmour-like solo her, beautiful and a very emotional ending.

Highly recommended for fans of melodic neo prog rock! Play it LOUD!!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2023