The Pineapple Thief - 137

(CD 2013/2001, 70:38, Kscope)

The tracks:
  1- Lay On The Tracks(4:45)
  2- Perpetual Night Shift(5:25)
  3- Kid Chameleon(7:02)
  4- Incubate(4:25)
  5- Doppler(7:32)
  6- Ster(4:00)
  7- Release The Tether(5:04)
  8- How Did We Find Our Way?(3:57)
  9- 137(5:02)
10- Preserve(5:20)
11- Warm Me(3:20)
12- PVS(11:42)
13- MD One(3:56)

Website      Kscope Records

137 is the second album of the British band The Pineapple Thief. It was originally released in 2001 with a line-up that includes Bruce Soord (guitars, vocals, keyboards, samples, programming), his brother Adrian Soord (Mellotron, Fender Rhodes, Prophet 5, piano, miscellaneous synths), Nick Lang (drums, percussion, backing vocals) and Mark Harris (bass guitar). This CD has been newly remastered and remixed and it also features new artwork. All songs are familiar because no bonus tracks have been included. The music can be described best as a blend of alternative, neo-progressive and indie rock. The best songs on 137 are Kid Chameleon and the epic piece PVS. Of course the real fans of The Pineapple Thief already have this album, so you could say that this reissue without bonus tracks is a bit redundant.

No rating Martien Koolen

Where to buy?