The One - Sunrise

(CD 2023, 39:46, Construction Records)

The tracks:
  1- The Thoughts Of Light(3:32)
  2- Time Out(5:48)
  3- The Past Haunts Again(8:56)
  4- Remember(3:30)
  5- Let's Laugh(5:52)
  6- Between You & Me(4:35)
  7- The Time Stands Still(3:00)
  8- Sunrise(5:15)

facebook      Construction Records

The One is a Dutch prog rock band and it is a project by Timothy van der Holst, who worked together with the British lyricist Frank Ayers to create the album Sunrise. Van der Holst got further musical assistance from Edwin in 't Veld (guitar), Max Gilkes (vocals), Fernando Perdomo (guitar), Luca Giordana (guitar) and Maarten Teekens (vocals).

Sunrise is a concept album and it opens with the instrumental guitar based The Thoughts Of Light; an excellent start as the song is filled with a couple of very nice melodic solos. The Past Haunts Again is rather cinematic and it definitely has a seventies flavour with obvious prog elements from bands like Yes, King Crimson, Genesis and even Alan Parsons. The Time Stands Still is kind of different as it features a lot of soundscapes and even a choir, while Let's Laugh is really Yes-like, just listen to those Rick Wakeman-sounding keys in there. The album ends with the title track, which is also the single of this album, and it is my favourite song of the album.

Excellent melodic progressive rock with great guitar picking and it is a shame that this album is rather short, I would gladly have listened to a couple of more tracks from The One.

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2023