The Gerald Peter Project -
Incremental Changes, Pt. 2

(CD 2022, 54:47, GRIDMusic)

The tracks:
  1- Prologue (7th Movement)(3:22)
  2- Enigma (8th Movement)(6:40)
  3- Flow (9th Movement)(4:29)
  4- Transformation (10th Movement)(5:00)
  5- Submerge (11th Movement)(6:19)
  6- Gleam (12th Movement)(4:57)
  7- Timeless (13th Movement)(4:46)
  8- Pulse (14th Movement)(5:51)
  9- Epilogue (15th Movement)(3:15)
10- Finale (16th Movement)(10:02)

Website      samples     

Gerald Peter was born in Vienna, Austria in 1986, and is a keyboardist, composer, producer, and technology enthusiast. He has also previously released albums with his bands Circle Of Illusion, Inspirational Corner and his 'Gerald Peter Project', where he acted as keyboardist, composer and producer. He was also on tour with Cirque Du Soleil as show band musician.

While listening to his album Incremental Changes, Pt. 2 I notice that Gerald Peter is a very skilled musician and composer. The music succeeds in keeping my attention during the entire album and I am blow away by the many sensational soli on keyboards, reminding met of Jan Hammer with Jeff Beck, that bombastic and fat sound, swinging and propulsive, wow! In a lot of tracks the sound builds from tender Grand piano and atmospheric to catchy beats and bombastic climates, embellished with Gerald Peter his awesome work on piano and synthesizers, from mellow to sparkling, from dreamy to sumptuous, a lot of variety and dynamics. The one moment a tender Grand piano intro, the next a sparkling or jazzy piano. And from dreamy or mellow to bombastic climates with spectacular synthesizer leads, fuelled by a powerful rhythm-section. The guest musicians deliver great contributions: Martin Miller with a fiery wah-wah drenched guitar solo in the exciting Pulse, and Jordan Rudess with a fat and sensational sounding synthesizer solo in the alternating epic Finale (16th movement).

Highly recommended, especially for those who love jazzrock like Jeff Beck with Jan Hammer.

**** Erik Neuteboom (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2022