Strawberry Fields -
Rivers Gone Dry

(CD 2009, 49:44, Metal Mind Productions MMP CD 0652)

The tracks:
1- Your Story(05:51)
2- Close(05:33)
3- River's Gone Dry(06:53)
4- Fool(05:54)
5- Moon(03:50)
6- Beautiful(03:55)
7- Open Your Eyes(05:48)
8- Maybe(04:25)
9- Flow(07:31)

Strawberry Fields Website        samples        Metal Mind Records

Wojtek Szadkowski is of course the leader and drummer of the excellent Polish prog rock band Satellite and in addition, he is the initiator of this new project called Strawberry Fields. The music is a mixture of keyboards, loops, psychedelic soundscapes, guitars and the female voice of Robin . Her voice reminds me of Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, Agua de Annique). There is a matter of fact that I do not like female voices in rock and that has nothing to do with sexism at all. I just do not like it. The music on this album could probably appeal to listeners who like Portishead or Massive Attack, but both bands do not appeal to me. The vocals dominate this album and most of the tracks are too poppy and too soft for me to enjoy. There are also a couple of ambient-like tracks, such as Beautiful, which almost made me fall asleep. The only track I actually like is Flow , the closing track of the album featuring a couple of nice, melodic guitar parts played by the amazing guitar picker of Satellite Sarhan Kubeisi. The rest, well try it out for your self, but in my opinion, Satellite is at least ten times better than Strawberry Fields.

** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013