State Urge -
White Rock Experience

(CD 2013, 48:32, Lynx Music LM 79CD)

The tracks:
  1- Third Wave Of Decadence(5:30)
  2- Preface(4:00)
  3- Time Rush(6:18)
  4- Long For You(5:00)
  5- Illusion(8:00)
  6- Tumbling Down(5:47)
  7- Gaze(5:46)
  8- All I Need(8:08)

Website      facebook      Lynx Music

State Urge are a Polish prog rock band consisting of Marcin Bocheński (drums), Marcin Cieślik (guitar, vocals), Krystian Papiernik (bass guitar) and Michał Tarkowski (keyboards). They already recorded two EPs: Underground Heart (2011) and What Comes Next? (2012, see review). In 2013 there their first full-length album White Rock Experience appeared.

The music on this album is a fine blend of Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree and their fellow-countrymen of Riverside. Keyboards, organ and piano play an important role in the music of State Urge. Furthermore you can also notice influences from ambient and space rock. Just listen to the rather 'weird' instrumental opening track Third Wave Of Decadence, filled with spacey sounds and a decent guitar solo in the end. The follow-up Preface definitely reminds me of Riverside, especially the guitar riffs. All I Need could be best described as a classic rock track containing lots of keyboards and nice melodies.

Actually the sad thing about White Rock Experience is that once you have listened to it, you already have forgotten what the album sounds like in a jiffy, as the album not really leaves any impression. By the way, the new album called Confrontation will be released in 2015!

**+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?