Soulful Terrain - Astoria

(CD 2009)

The tracks:
  1- The Great Unknown
  2- Astoria
  3- The Narrow Path
  4- Shadows On The Sun
  5- Drifting
  6- Into The Eastern Wind
  7- Stand
  8- Ocean Road
  9- Lost For You
10- Secrets In The Valley

Soulful Terrain Website        samples       

Soulful Terrain is an American prog rock band consisting of leader Jason Williams (guitar, keyboards, bass), drummer Van Hunsberger and singer Elic Gurganus. They release their albums only through downloads on their website. So if you want to have the third album of Soulful Terrain then you should go to their website and download Astoria. Their previous album The Days Of Truth And Hope dates from 2003, so they had a lot of time to come up with something good.

Well, I have to say that these guys did a fine job. Soulful Terrain’s music is a blend of jazz, progressive rock, alternative music and even Celtic elements. Most of the songs are rather catchy and dominated by the clear and relaxing voice of singer Elic Gurganus. Bands that come to mind as rather obvious influences or references are Airbag, Jethro Tull, Riverside and The Third Ending. My favourite tracks are Secrets In The Valley and The Narrow Path, mainly due to the beautiful guitar passages of Jason Williams. However, the quiet piano songs Drifting and Lost For You are a bit too ambient for me, but all in all Astoria is a nice symphonic prog album. Check it out on their website!

*** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013