Slug Comparison -
When You Were Living Here

(CD 2019, 52:17, Rock Company)

The tracks:
  1- Exactly What To Do(3:59)
  2- Hyperslump(4:10)
  3- Let Some Light(4:21)
  4- Fine With It(3:54)
  5- Thoughts(4:58)
  6- When You Were Living Here(5:40)
  7- Becoming(3:43)
  8- So Ya Got A Great Guitar(3:38)
  9- Hold Of You(4:31)
10- Beings Far Away(5:47)
11- Purple Monkey(3:06)
12- One More Sleep(4:23)

Website      samples      facebook      Rock Company

Slug Comparison, weird name for a band by the way, is a solo project of guitar picker/singer Doug Harrison. In 2014 Slug Comparison released their debut album and now five years later the follow up album When You Were Living Here sees the light of day.

This new album contains twelve songs of which the majority have a truly instinctive catchiness. The songs are a blend of singer-songwriter material and electric and acoustic progressive rock with minor influences from a band like Rush; but not really of course.....The album opens with a catchy, melodic guitar track called Exactly What To Do, a song that represents the rest of the song material on this album. Highlights are the title track, Fine With It and So Ya Got A Great Guitar.

A nice prog light rock album with excellent guitar passage and solos, but nothing special; meaning: When You Were Living Here will be forgotten very quickly and will definitely not appear in my list of best albums of 2019.

*** Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2019