Seismic Cry - Fleeting

(CD 2011, 63:05, Private Release)

The tracks:
  1- Once Upon A Dream(6:35)
  2- More Of You(6:25)
  3- Holiday(3:48)
  4- Far From Me(4:26)
  5- Polaris(6:11)
  6- Floating(6:39)
  7- So Short Goodbyes(3:28)
  8- Carnival(6:46)
  9- Atonement(5:55)
10- Like Cleopatra(2:15)
11- Happy Endings(10:41)


Seismic Cry is a Canadian band that has been in and out of the progressive rock scene for more than 10 years. Seismic Cry is a rather ambitious band and their music is guitar driven (mostly acoustic guitar unfortunately), experimental, theatrical, sometimes even bittersweet and difficult to listen to and enjoy. If pressed to name musical references then I would offer Peter Gabriel, Philip Glass and Mike Oldfield. Their previous two albums The Hopeless Flare and Reverence were both concept albums. But their new release Fleeting is more of a personal project of front man Philippe Gaudetbut. The atmosphere on this third album is still very ethereal but also slightly more upbeat. However-to me, all the 11 songs sound the same, rather monotonous, psychedelic, ambient and boring. The electronics, the loops, the soundscapes, the whispering vocals and the tiresome melodies-if you can call them melodies-tend to get on my nerves very quickly and the total lack of guitar solos lead me to say that I will not become a fan of Seismic Cry. However, if you are willing to listen to highly experimental melancholy music in the veins of No-Man, then I would advise you to take a chance and listen to this album as it may prove to be rewarding for you. 

** Martien Koolen (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013