Sailor Free -
Spiritual Revolution

(CD 2012, 69:30, Tide)

The tracks:
  1- Spiritual Overture(6:11)
  2- A New World(5:46)
  3- The Run(4:15)
  4- Betray(1:59)
  5- The Curse(7:11)
  6- Daeron(4:36)
  7- Spiritual Revolution(5:28)
  8- War(3:40)
  9- The Entropia(3:56)
10- Faithless(6:31)
11- Beyond The Borders(5:00)
12- Break The Cycle(3:02)
13- My Brain(7:53)
14- A Great Hope(3:54)

Sailor Free Website        myspace        Tide Records

Sailor Free, founded in 1991 in Rome, Italy, consists of David Petrosino (voice, piano, keyboards), Stefano 'The Hook' Barelli (guitars), Alphonso Nini (bass) and Stefano Tony (drums). Spiritual Revolution is their third album after Sailor Free (1992) and The Fifth Door (1994). Spiritual Revolution is a concept album inspired by Tolkien's book The Silmarillion, although I really don't understand where that comes from. It's a rather ambitious album as well, but in my opinion it's definitely too ambitious and besides the compositions lack good and interesting melodies and solos.

After the first four songs I was completely confused as they all sounded like instrumental chaos to me. Add to this the rather nasal vocals of David Petrosino and the poor sound of the album and you'll understand that Spiritual Revolution will certainly not end in my annual top ten of favourite albums! If I had to describe the sound of Sailor Free I would come up with a blend of neo-prog, dark metal, Celtic influences and psychedelic passages. Personally I would call this album utterly boring and way too long to really enjoy the music.

*+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013