Riverside -
Eye Of The Soundscape

(2016, 49:57 / 52:17, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
CD 1
  1- Where The River Flows(10:53)
  2- Shine(4:09)
  3- Rapid Eye Movement (2016 mix)(12:40)
  4- Night Session - Part One(10:40)
  5- Night Session - Part Two(11:35)
CD 2:
  1- Sleepwalkers(7:19)
  2- Rainbow Trip (2016 mix)(6:19)
  3- Heavenland(4:59)
  4- Return(6:50)
  5- Aether(8:43)
  6- Machines(3:53)
  7- Promise(2:44)
  8- Eye Of The Soundscape(11:30)

Website      facebook      Inside Out Records

The new double CD of Riverside has the title Eye Of The Soundscape. This is a special complimentary instrumental release, featuring 13 experimental, melancholic songs with no vocals and almost no guitar and bass guitar passages. So I would not recommend this album to fans who like the metal side of Riverside, as it is a long ambient trip with a completely different sound and musical style. It is also an album with remixes of songs from previous albums, featuring song material composed between 2007 and 2016, conceived in 2015/2016 in Warsaw. So, in fact you will not hear any new Riverside music, just “old” songs played as ambient tracks with no musical power whatsoever. In my humble opinion this is an extremely boring, dull album that adds nothing to the great music Riverside has made in the past. So, if you are not a fan of ambient, synthesizer based lounge music you can forget this album and spend your money on other great albums that have just been released, such as the new Marillion album or the new album by John Wesley (see review).....

No rating Martien Koolen (edited by Astrid de Ronde)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016