Phobos Corporation - Felicity

(CD 2012, 28:55, Freia Music)

The tracks:
  1- One Eternal (Felicity's Song)(04:49)
  2- Conceived Fate(04:54)
  3- This Divine Tragedy(03:44)
  4- Angels In Despair(03:01)
  5- Shattered Passion(04:15)
  6- Cry Of An Angel(04:00)
  7- If Only...(04:08)

Website      samples      Freia Music

Phobos Corporation is the brainchild of composer and keyboardist Spyros Papadakis (Greel). Their debut EP released in 2005 gained a bit of recognition in Greece and in the underground scene. Over the years they have progressed and now their sound is more mature. The second EP Felicity features four new songs and three older remastered tracks.

One Eternal opens the EP, a song that reminds me of bands like Epica, Evanescence and Within Temptation due to the female lead vocals of Tara Louise. The sound is rather bombastic and if you like wind instruments, you can even enjoy a trumpet solo. Follow-up Conceived Fate features lots of keyboards and a nice guitar solo as well. This Divine Tragedy is again bombastic bringing back memories of the Italian band Rhapsody. Angels In Despair kicks off with a choir evolving into bombastic passages and lots of riffs and hooks.

After a while you can hardly distinguish one song from another. I have to say that the originality factor of this EP is quite low. However, if you like the aforementioned bands you might give this thirty-minute EP a chance.

**+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013