Pangea - Retrospectacular

(CD 2010, 43:42, Lion Music LMC286)

The tracks:
  1- Time's Up(3:37)
  2- Hold Your Fire(3:49)
  3- Right Between The Eyes(3:34)
  4- Blindfold(3:43)
  5- Little By Little(5:30)
  6- Shot(3:42)
  7- Don't Let Go(2:51)
  8- House Of Love(4:40)
  9- TNT(5:11)
10- AM(3:48)
11- It's Too Late(3:18)

Lion Music

Pangea is a Danish melodic hard rock band and Retrospectacular marks the release of the band’s long awaited third album. Pangea is not really a prog rock band, so accordingly I will keep this review short but sweet. The music on this album can be described best as powerful guitar hard rock, as it was played at the end of the eighties and the beginning of the nineties. If you listen attentively you’ll hear characteristics of famous bands like Extreme, Mr. Big and Y&T. This CD features ten swinging hard rock tracks and of course the completely redundant bitter-sweet ballad Shot. The best songs are probably Time’s Up, Hold Your Fire and TNT as all these songs have great hooks, lots of melody and plenty of guitar work. So, if you still like good ‘old-fashioned’ guitar rock, then you should give Pangea a fair chance.

*** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013