Ozric Tentacles -
Paper Monkeys

(CD 2011, 61:21, Mad Fish / Snapper SMACD979)

The tracks:
  1- Attack Of The Vapours(5:22)
  2- Lemon Kush(6:15)
  3- Flying Machines(6:26)
  4- Knurl(6:08)
  5- Lost In The Sky(7:20)
  6- Paper Monkeys(7:17)
  7- Plowm(7:52)
  8- Will Of The Wisps(10:42)
  9- Air City(3:53)

Ozric Tentacles Website        Madfish Music

A lot of things have changed for Ozric Tentacles in recent years, except for the music. The former leaders of the free festival psychedelic underground in the United Kingdom now live somewhere in the Rocky Mountains in Colorado, United States. Also the line-up of the band survived a lot of changes. The steady line-up of the band from 1995 to 2002 had a good live reputation all over Europe. However, from 2002 all members left the band except for Ed Wynne (guitars, synthesizers). The line-up of 2011 consists of Ed's wife Brandy Wynne (bass), his son Silas Wynne (synthesizers) and the only non-related band member Oliver 'Oli' Seagle (drums).

Musically the album is almost a remake of their classic album Jurassic Shift (1993). In fact, all the albums they made since 1993 are actually remakes of that record. However, that doesn't mean that Paper Monkeys is a bad album; not at all. It's a fine listening trip; the music contains lots of bubbling synthesizers and strange noises. There's a good flow in the rhythm section, and it's very danceable. In addition, the recording and mixing are very clear. Still, it would have been nice if Ed Wynne had been inspired by his new environment to come out of the comfort zone and try something new. Having replaced everyone in the band by his own family could have pushed him a bit more in another direction, but I'm afraid this won't happen anymore. Ozric Tentacles will play the same old material again during the next tour with maybe a few tracks from the new album...

*** Erik Gibbels (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013