Odin's Court - Deathanity

(CD 2016, 67:47, ProgRock Records)

The tracks:
  1- Terracide(4:43)
  2- Volatilestial(7:30)
  3- Manifest Destiny(5:14)
  4- Oceanica Toxica(5:55)
  5- Mammonific(5:14)
  6- Animaulic(7:49)
  7- Esoterica(6:06)
  8- Crownet(5:01)
  9- Obesite(6:18)
10- Ode To Joy(3:46)
11- Cosmosera(6:12)
12- Vastificant(2:46)

Website      samples      facebook     

Deathanity is a reissue of the original album that the USA-based progressive rock band Odin's Court released in 2008, but this time it was re-recorded with the new singer Dimetrius LaFavors. The album got great reviews, but I'm not sure if there are many listeners or fans out there who will buy this record just because they can enjoy another singer.

Deathanity is a great album if you love guitar orientated, melodic progressive metal. Instrumental tracks like Oceanica Toxica, Estorica and Ode To Joy - a part of Beethoven's ninth symphony actually − are my highlights on this album. Matt Brookins really is an amazing guitar player. The three aforementioned instrumentals are filled with his excellent solos, riffs, hooks, melodies and arpeggios. Mammonific features the lead vocals by Tom Englund (Evergrey) and in Crownet you can hear the voice of Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica).

Odin's Court's influences come from bands like Queen, Porcupine Tree, Metallica, Pink Floyd, Yes, Journey and Rush, so for all lovers of decent prog metal and prog rock there's something on Deathanity. I'm looking forward to their new album, but I still enjoy this 'old one' very much; turn up the volume if you listen to Deathanity!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016