N.y.X - Down in Shadows

(CD 2010, 40:11, Electromantic Music)

The tracks:
  1- Down In Shadows [Part I](8:03)
  2- Day After Day(4:42)
  3- Colour(3:01)
  4- O.Y.O [On Your Own](6:26)
  5- Wait(5:20)
  6- C18H21NO3-30 mg Kodeina(1:44)
  7- Down In Shadows [Part II - Including Crime](10:54)

N.y.X Website        samples        Electromantic Music

Once again we need to extend the definition of prog rock if we want to review this CD from N.y.X, as these Italians do not make traditional symphonic music. They rather make a mixture of neo-prog and rock with a dose of new wave. Somehow the music reminds me of Primus because of the singing which resembles the vocal style of Les Claypool. Other references are King Crimson and Van Der Graaf Generator, the first because of the emphatic presence of Crimson's guitarist Trey Gunn in several tracks, and the second because of the cooperation of VDGG's saxophonist David Jackson in one track. So all the ingredients are present to make a great record, but unfortunately it is not. At least, it doesn't work for me. Just as with last year's UKZ, which also had great musicians and a King Crimson-sound, N.y.X suffer from the same shortcoming: the compositions are not very memorable. It's difficult to listen to the songs which form a concept, but it seems the musicians want to be too clever for their own good, instead of our listening pleasure. This is a shame, really...

** André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013