Nitewalk -
Darker Shades Of Gray

(CD 2011, 55:51, YMP)

The tracks:
  1- Treasure Land(4:27)
  2- Gush Of Life(4:20)
  3- Red Blades(4:45)
  4- Rhymes(4:46)
  5- Fire(3:41)
  6- Blue(3:32)
  7- Gray Angels(3:40)
  8- Watchtower(4:11)
  9- Secrets(5:36)
10- Black(3:58)
11- Foolin'(4:49)
12- Pet Stories(5:10)
13- The End(2:54)

Nitewalk Website        samples       

Nitewalk is a German progressive rock band with its musical roots buried deeply in the seventies. The band consists of Daniel Fischer (vocals), Christian Jungebluth (guitars), Kai Kleinewig (bass) and Michael Ehre (drums) and all four of them are professional musicians playing and having played in other bands. Ehre, for instance, has been on tour with Firewind and Uli Roth. The music of these four Germans is a mixture of blues, rock, heavy metal, jazz and classic.

They started to work on this album in 2009 and two years later they finished the thirteen songs. While listening to the album for the first time I wasn't really impressed and after listening to it more often I even began to dislike it increasingly... That's mainly due to the irritating and weird vocals in songs like Gush Of Life, Fire and Treasure Land. In these songs Daniel Fischer sounds like Klaus Meine (Scorpions), especially if you listen carefully to his pronunciation. As it turns out he can also sing rather normal in songs like Blue and Pet Stories. Both songs are a bit bluesy with nice guitar work and some decent melodies. However, the band is at its worst in the piano ballad Gray Angels and in the acoustic guitar ballad The End. To these songs I can't really listen for more than ten seconds. So my advice would be: listen to the album carefully and then decide whether you want to add this CD to your collection or not.

*+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013