Mytho - In The Abstract

(CD 2010, 47:31, BTF AMS 186)

The tracks:
  1- Abstract(5:58)
  2- Luna(5:06)
  3- Alpha centauri(6:13)
  4- Wishes Life(4:25)
  5- New Gemini's Rising(5:58)
  6- Maelstrom(4:07)
  7- These Words Are in My Heart(5:03)
  8- Words of Silence(6:10)
  9- Dawn of a New Beginning(4:21)

Mytho Website       

After an EP and a contribution to a Marillion tribute record, the Italian band Mytho finally released its debut album In The Abstract. As the biographic information proudly states, John Payne of John Payne's Asia is a guest musician on this record. This immediately gives you a clue to the type of music you can expect from Mytho : well-groomed melodic AOR. The songs are quite nice, the musicians obviously know their stuff and they're able to write a decent tune. However, it all sounds a bit too safe, nowhere does the band really rock out, and it's all a bit understated. In The Abstract gets better every time you play it, but this playing should be happening at night time because the music gives you a comfortable, snug feeling a bit like a musical blanket. For me the highlight is the instrumental Maelström because it's up-tempo and has a decent guitar solo in it, nice and way too short. In the end - for a record which has been in the making for over three years - it leaves the listener behind with the feeling that the music could have been better. Well, maybe next time?

**André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013