Mother Black Cap -
The English Way

(CD 2010, 49:10, Cyclops, CYCL 172)

The tracks:
  1- Breydon Sunrise(9:16)
  2- Child Of Our Time(7:03)
  3- Home(3:07)
  4- In Vino Veritas(6:35)
  5- Donít Change Me(4:16)
  6- Flying Kiss(0:53)
  7- The English Way(17:58)

Mother Black Cap Website        samples        Cyclops Records

Mother Black Cap is a new British five piece progressive rock band playing a mixture of prog rock with roots in the tradition of Genesis, Pendragon and Grey Lady Down. Especially the influences of the latter are rather obvious and since I really donít like Gray Lady Down, which is an understatement, I have difficulties listening to this album as well. The seven tracks on this CD are all mediocre, rather boring prog rock songs without dynamics and musical surprises. The vocals of Iain Jackson are nasal, dull and very predictable being the worst in Home, a song with only vocals. The title song The English Way, an epic that lasts almost 18 minutes, is a bit too long. However, itís still the best Mother Black Cap has to offer. If you have trouble falling asleep or if you suffer from insomnia just put on this record and after a couple of minutes you will be in sleeping heavenÖ

*+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013