Metamorphosis - Dark

(CD 2009, 62:01, ProgRock Records PRR660/Galileo Records GR018)

The tracks:
1- Song For My Son(08:26)
2- The Fight Is Over(07:53)
3- Hey Man(09:57)
4- Waking Up(07:16)
5- Knowing All I Do Is Worth Nothing(08:44)
6- You(06:34)
7- Where Do We Go Now(09:51)
8- Dark(03:16)

Metamorphosis Website     samples     ProgRock / Galileo Records

This Swiss band, founded in 2001 by prime mover Jean-Pierre Schenk, already delivered three albums. Schenk is an autodidact who sings and plays keyboards, drums and bass synthesizer. The other members on this fourth release are Roger Burri (acoustic and electric guitars) and Oliver Guenat (guitars). The eight tracks on Dark sound melodiously and modern. Schenk arranged the songs very tastefully with lots of shifting moods. You can hear echoes of mainly Pink Floyd, but also Rush and Hawkwind. The album has some fine musical ideas and varied keyboard layers: from flashy synthesizers and bombastic church- and Hammond organ to wonderful mellotron waves and psychedelic organ sounds. Besides, there is a number of strong guitar solos, often with ‘Gilmourian’ undertones and loaded with emotion. The English vocals are not bad at all, but they sometimes lack emotion and expression. However, this hardly harms the music. If you are into the above-mentioned bands, you should at least give Metamorphosis a try. Their modern and varied prog rock will please many prog heads.

***+ Erik Neuteboom (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013