Matt Dorsey - Let Go

(CD 2023, 30:24, Random Disturbance Records)

The tracks:
  1- Castles Made Of Sand(3:28)
  2- Compromise(4:01)
  3- Waiting For The Fall(4:25)
  4- Man(4:41)
  5- Impossible Friends(4:02)
  6- Echo(3:56)
  7- Let Go(3:00)
  8- Dangerous(2:40)

Website      samples      facebook     

Multi-instrumentalist Matt Dorsey (ex-Sound Of Contact) hails from Orange County (USA) and he released his first progressive pop/rock album Let Go under his own name, featuring Marco Minnemann (drums), Dave Kerzner (keyboards) and Jonathan Mover (drums).

Let Go, a rather short album, as it only has a playing time of 30 minutes, features eight new songs; a blend of influences from bands like Yes, Genesis, Kansas, Pink Floyd, The Police and Steely Dan. Dorsey plays all the guitar parts, sings, plays bass guitar and keyboards and I have to say that all the eight tracks are perfectly performed by Dorsey indeed.

Opening track Castles Made Of Sand features a nice piano intro and melodic-wise it reminds me of Kansas and Yes. Waiting For The Fall features mister Minnemann on drums and this one also has a rather funky guitar riff, but most interesting perhaps is the Tony Banks-like keyboard solo of Dave Kerzner here. Impossible Friends has a true Spanish sounding vibe due to the acoustic guitar parts, while Man is rather poppy and Echo is, sad but true, rather tiresome. Closing track Dangerous is a rather straight forward love song, ending this album in a rather positive way, musically speaking that is.

Let Go is a nice pop/rock album, packed with short melodic rockers, some memorable hooks, and melodies, so really worthwhile to check out.

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2023