Marquette - Into The Wild

(CD 2020, 63:45, Progressive Promotion Records)

The tracks:
  1- No Answer(6:53)
  2- Seven Doors(14:02)
  3- Criminal Kind(3:47)
  4- Alexander Supertramp(6:13)
  5- Sensuality(5:24)
  6- Portrait of Men(3:36)
  7- Poisoned Homeland(4:40)
  8- Into the Wild(19:10)

Website      Progressive Promotion Records

Marquette is a German mainstream prog band founded by Markus Roth (keys and guitars), who is also a member of Horizontal Ascension and Force Of Progress. Marquette released their debut album in 2015 and now they are back with Into The Wild, which features eight brand new songs.

Most of the tracks are instrumental, only on Criminal Kind and Portrait Of Men can you hear the vocals of Maurizio Menendez. No Answer, the opening track, is rather diverse and mostly guitar based, which is something I personally really like indeed. Follow up Seven Doors, clocking just over 14 minutes is rather complex and features saxophone passages/solos by Robin Mock. In these first two songs you can hear that Marquette plays modern prog with jazz influences and rock influences. To me certain musical passages are definitely related to bands like Camel, Pink Floyd and even Steven Wilson; not bad indeed. The musicianship is excellent, everything fits almost perfectly together, and the very distinctive moods and atmospheres make this album a “winner” If you listen very carefully you can even hear some nice King Crimson details. Guitar picker Sebastian Schleicher does a more than excellent job and if you like instrumental eclectic prog rock then Into The Wild is a must have album for you! The album ends with the epic title track, which clocks over 19 minutes and that one is a real musical treat, even featuring a nice trumpet solo by Art Lip.

Listening tip to get in the mood for this awesome album is: Seven Doors!!

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2020