Mark Wingfield -
Tales From The Dreaming City

(CD 2018, 63:13, Moonjune Records MJR091)

The tracks:
  1- The Fifth Window(5:09)
  2- I Wonder How Many Miles I've Fallen(7:19)
  3- The Way To Hemingford Grey(5:54)
  4- Sunlight Cafe(5:57)
  5- Looking Back At The Amber Lit House(6:47)
  6- This Place Up Against The Sky(5:46)
  7- At A Small Hour Of The Night(8:03)
  8- A Wind Blows Down Turnpike Lane(4:27)
  9- Ten Mile Bank(5:36)
10- The Green-Faced Timekeepers(7:52)

Website      samples      Moonjune Records

Since Mark Wingfield debuted on the Moonjune label, he has been quite productive, first a thorough solo album; Proof Of Light, (2015, see review) and in 2017 he released two intriguing albums; first Wingfield Reuter Stavi Sirkis's The Stone House (2017, see review ), and later during the same year a lighter version; Wingfield Reuter Sirkis' Lighthouse (2017, see review). This year he returns as a solo artist, being backed up by the rhythm section who accompanies him since his Moonjune debut; bass player Yaron Stavi and drummer Asaf Sirkis. This time the trio sees a guest in keyboard player Dominique Vantomme, playing synth on four tracks, as well as a special vocal contribution of Sikris on the final track.

Mark's guitar playing is impeccable, he easily blends Alan Holdsworth reminding parts with Terje Rydal's intonation. Always experimenting with sounds, rhythms and always a surprising outcome. I guess Mark is one of the new re-inventors of experimental guitar music of this time. A kind of craftsmanship that seemed to be lost in the last digital decade. Mark is eager to experiment and has the ability to create wonderful sounds. Sometimes reminiscent of King Crimson's Robert Fripp, during the fine soundscapes, other times Zappa and the aforementioned Holdsworth passes by. What really stands out is the number of times both drums and bass are taking the lead, Stavi's fretless bass is getting a lot of attention and is brilliantly imbedded in Mark's compositions. Also the percussive drumming of Sirkis is very notable and the trio compositions are very well balanced between the instruments. The extra synth parts, especially during Ten Mile Bank are a very fine addition to the sound, Dominique's delicate playing adds another layer to the music, making Ten Mile Bank one of my personal favourites on the album. The Green-Faced Timekeepers sees the vocal contribution of Sirkis, an Indian tonnakol part, that seems to gain on popularity on you tube since a while. Something that keeps the interest and could have been used more often during the album.

Mark Wingfield keeps improving himself, his compositions are getting more interesting by the album and as a guitar player, and he should get the recognition for being an experimental guitarist who is able to create amazing sounds on one side, but also succeeds to keep the songs interesting on the other side.

**** Pedro Bekkers (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2018