Mandrake Project - Transitions

(CD 2011, 51:11, Glassville Records)

The tracks:
  1- Transitions
  2- We Are You
  3- In Love
  4- Black Bag
  5- Dry In The Quarter
  6- Temptress
  7- The Old Is New
  8- Diabolique
  9- Wide Open
10- Given Away
11- Sang For Min Fru
12- Providence
13- Rain

Mandrake Project Website        samples        Glassville Records

I'm beginning to get tired of all those quasi post-rock groups that make free-floating semi-intellectual music that float gushingly out of the speakers while the singer pours out his heart over the poor listener with his life philosophies. You already noticed that André, the grumpy Muppet granny, is sitting comfortably in his listening chair ready to slash everything while listening to Transitions, the third album of Mandrake Project. Well, I'm sorry but ever since bands like Sigur Rós have been successful, there are just too many of these bands coming out of the woodwork. However, is has to be said, Mandrake Project succeed in making the music a bit different, although I'm not completely sure whether that is a good thing. The second track We Are You sounds exactly like Gary Numan of Tubeway Army, another of those musicians which almost make me very happy with his varied music. It's quite an ordeal to sit through the thirteen tracks and it's difficult to say something about this album that's not mediocre ... in which I didn't succeed.

* André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013