Logic Mess -
Element Of The Grid

(CD 2012, 71:59, Lynx Music)

The tracks:
  1- Intro(2:09)
  2- Welcome To The Pandemic States(10:25)
  3- Arcadia(6:09)
  4- The Guards Of Integration(11:07)
  5- Recall Of A Memory(11:59)
  6- Systematic Cube(8:19)
  7- Over The Giant Wall(13:05)
  8- Surrender(5:58)
  9- Outtro(2:46)

Website        myspace        Lynx Music

Logic Mess, a five-piece prog metal band from Poland, was founded in 2009 as Crystal Lake. Element Of The Grid is their debut album. Most of the eight songs recorded by Krzysztof Owsiak (vocals), Marcin Gawełek (guitars), Piotr Wypych (keyboards), Lukasz Bieńkowski (bass) and Piotr Majka (drums) are ballad-like prog metal tracks with too many identical guitar riffs and melodies. A bit more variety would have improved this concept album a lot as these musicians prove in a song like Systematic Cube that they can actually rock.

The vocals of Krzysztof Owsiak are quite good in fact; he sometimes reminds me of the lead singer of the German power metal band Blind Guardian. However, there's one thing that really bothers me namely the weird, cheesy and far too long narrative parts during the intro, at the end of Recall Of A Memory and in Outtro; this is far too much. The rest of the material is not bad at all though not very original. Maybe the theme is a bit far-fetched, but if you like solid but predictable prog metal you can give Logic Mess a try.

**+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013