Leverage - Circus Collossus

(CD (2010, 48:06, Spinefarm Records)

The tracks:
  1- Rise(4:54)
  2- Wolf And The Moon(5:01)
  3- Movie Gods( 5:09)
  4- Worldbeater(4:53)
  5- Rider Of Storm(5:47)
  6- Legions Of Invisible(3:58)
  7- Revelation(5:01)
  8- Donít Keep Me Waiting(2:31)
  9- Prisoners(5:51)
10- Broken Wings(6:51)

Leverage Website        samples       

Leverage is a Finnish band and Circus Collossus is their third release. The music is rather bombastic with lots of orchestration passages and power rock elements. While listening to this album for the first time, bands like Avantasia and Nightwish came to my mind; especially during the first two songs called: Rise (instrumental by the way) and Wolf And The Moon. However the third song kicks off with a real AC/DC riff, later evolving into a melodic metal beauty. In fact the entire album is great to listen to. Check out: Rider Of Storm (prog rock like), Legions Of Invisible (with a true a capella intro) and Broken Wings. The keyboards and the guitar riffs are very dominant on this album and I must say that this is definitely Leverageís best album up to date.

Listening tip: Revelation!

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Melody Oakley)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013