Gerald Krampl - Timediver

(CD 2008, 45:47, Indigo Music SCD 30.015)

The tracks:
  1- Steamborn(6:11)
  2- East-West(4:58)
  3- Samarcand(4:44)
  4- Dark Veil(4:44)
  5- Lakeview(5:39)
  6- Spirit Dancer(5:00)
  7- Timediver(4:49)
  8- Quiet Days(5:26)
  9- Reflections(3:43)

Gerald Krampl Website                Indigo Music

Gerald Krampl is a Viennese pianist, keyboard player and composer. Timediver is his latest effort. Actually, Krampl started this album as a sound track, but in the end, it turned out to be more rock and electronic orientated. The music takes you back to the spirit of the eighties and maybe this is because Krampl used old-fashioned instruments like the DX7, Proteus and Oberheim synthesizers. The music sounds spacy and dreamy and is strictly speaking ideal as background music while reading a nice book. After four tracks, however, Krampl runs too much over the same old ground. Either you fall asleep or you put another CD into your player. The best songs on Timediver are Samarcand and Spirit Dancer, which truly remind me of Mike Oldfield during his Ommadawn period.

** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013