Jolly - The Audio Guide To
Happiness (Part 1)

(CD 2011, 48:11, Inside Out/Century Media Records)

The tracks:
  1- Guidance One(0:53)
  2- Ends Where It Starts(5:25)
  3- Joy(4:40)
  4- Pretty Darlin'(3:51)
  5- The Pattern(6:26)
  6- Storytime(3:49)
  7- Guidance Two(1:02)
  8- Still A Dream(5:56)
  9- Radiae(4:15)
10- Where Everything's Perfect(6:11)
11- Dorothy's Lament(3:36)
12- Intermission(0:08)

Jolly Website        samples        Inside Out Records

Jolly's debut album Forty-Six Minutes, Twelve Seconds Of Music (2009) was a great album for fans of bands like Oceansize, Amplifier and The Pineapple Thief. The reviews were rather good and their debut led to a European tour with Riverside, and a record deal with InsideOut Music/Century Media records. Jolly's first album contained a binaural brain wave phenomenon, never heard of in rock music before.

Throughout the album binaural tones were embedded, which resulted from the combination of slightly off-set frequencies played together, thereby changing the brain's natural frequency. Scientific research suggested that these tones can arouse feelings of relaxation, creativity and happiness when you listen to this music through your headphones. On their new album, Jolly takes these concepts to a new level as the new CD is a self-reflective sonic journey meant to guide you as a listener through the strata of your own emotional make-up. If you are intrigued you can find more about this on Jolly's website.

The songs on this new album are all solid rock songs filled with clever arrangements, heavy passages, pop sounds and addictive hooks. Joy, Pretty Darlin' and The Pattern are all rather heavy tracks with amazing riffs and raspy vocals. With Storytime the album becomes quieter and moodier, but not mediocre; just different. With Where Everything's Perfect the band returns to their heavy side as this song has truly great power. The album ends with the ambient Dorothy's Lament and the redundant Intermission, a 'song' of only eight seconds... 'This concludes part one, please insert disk two', a voice says. Sad but true, there is no disk two yet, so be patient. The Audio Guide To Happiness, part 1 is a great biennial release from Jolly, better labeled as a breathtaking album of progressive rock! Check it out!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013