Indrek Patte - IN

(CD 2023, 53:51, Strangiato Records)

The tracks:
  1- The Opening(6:21)
  2- Are You In?(5:28)
  3- Twisted Reality(7:14)
  4- Restless(7:17)
  5- Walking With You(6:41)
  6- Fragile(5:00)
  7- Lord Of The Miracles(15:50)

Website      samples      facebook     

Indrek Patte is an Estonian musician, singer-songwriter, recording engineer and producer. Like many people born in the late fifties and early sixties he started listening to The Beatles and Led Zeppelin. In 1972, listening Close To The Edge by Yes, he discovered progressive rock, the kind of music that completely reflected his own inner world. Like many of us in the seventies he listened to the wonderful music of Yes, Genesis, Gentle Giant, Emerson Lake and Palmer. Influences which are still notable on his solo albums. Just like you can also hear on his latest solo album IN. An album which will be enjoyed by those who love all of the above-mentioned bands.

IN has a line up of Indrek Patte on lead vocals and keyboards. Furthermore, we have the incredible Mathieu Spaeter (Franck Carducci/ Hayley Griffiths) on guitars. Vladislav Reinfeldt on bass. Andrus Lillepea on drums and percussion. Priidik Soon on flute. Edward Soon on cello and Hendrik Soon on violin.

All of the music and lyrics for this album were written by Indrek Patte himself. And If I may say so he did a wonderful job by coming up with seven excellent compositions.

The album starts with the strong instrumental opener The Opening, reminding me of Neal Morse. But also, Steve Hackett isn't far away! It is followed by another strong piece of music which has the title Are You In? Excellent guitar playing by Spaeter here. Follow up Twisted Reality starts with great electric piano and synthesizer parts. The vibraphone or marimba kind of keyboard parts fits perfectly and together with the electric piano it moves into the direction of Gentle Giant music wise. Also, the Hammond organ gives this track a real retro feeling. Again, Spaeter shows here how much of an underrated guitar player he is. No rest for the wicked they say sometimes. So again, Mathieu plays some mean guitar parts on the up-tempo piece Restless. The song has all kinds of different influences. Taken from hard rock, progressive rock and jazz rock. Again, Gentle Giant comes to the surface because of the strong harmony vocal parts. Follow up Walking With You is another strong rather up tempo composition. Follow up Fragile starts rather fragile with beautiful flute playing and delicate keyboard parts. Strong guitar parts are next on this fine instrumental piece of music. The final track Lord Of The Miracles is the longest track on the album and clocks almost 16 minutes. Without any doubt the musical highlight on the album. Flower Kings meets Spock's Beard and Neal Morse so to speak. But also, Genesis comes to mind as well. Fine synthesizer parts are mixed with strong guitar parts. Most of all Spaeter shines on the final part of this epic composition.

As said before IN is an album that most of all will be loved by those who enjoy the great progressive rock acts from the seventies. Acts such as Yes, Genesis, Gentle Giant and Steve Hackett. But also, those who enjoy the acts of the nineties such as Flower Kings and Spock's Beard are recommended to listen to this excellent album. Not to forget those who enjoy the music of Neal Morse. Therefore, I ask you to take a chance a listen to the amazing music of Indrek Patte. I guess you will not regret it as much as I did myself!

**** Henri Strik (edited by Dave Smith)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2024