Hawkwind -
Parallel Universe, A Liberty/U.A. Years Anthology 1970-1974

(CD 2011, 75:32 / 78:21 / 58:31, EMI Records Hawks 8)

The tracks:
CD 1:
  1- Hurry On Sundown (original mono single)
  2- Mirror Of Illusion (mono single edit)
  3- You Know You're Only Dreaming
         - (original 1970 version, previously unreleased)
  4- The Reason Is (alternate version) (previously unreleased)
  5- Be Yourself (alternate mix) (previously unreleased)
  6- Seeing It As You Really Are (from the album Hawkwind)
  7- Hog Farm (previously unreleased)
  8- Kiss Of The Velvet Whip (aka Sweet Mistress Of Pain)
         - (1971 version, previously unreleased)
  9- You Shouldn't Do That (from In Search Of Space)
10- Master Of The Universe
         - (original vocal take, previously unreleased)
11- Children Of The Sun (from the album In Search Of Space)
12- Paranoia (Greasy Truckers Party version - live)
CD 2:
  1- Brainstorm (from the album Doremi Fasol Latido)
  2- Space Is Deep (from the album Doremi Fasol Latido)
  3- Lord Of Light (from the album Doremi Fasol Latido)
  4- Take What You Can (previously unreleased)
  5- Silver Machine (original single mix)
  6- Seven By Seven (original single alternate vocal mix)
         - (previously unreleased)
  7- Born To Go (Space Ritual version - live)
  8- Down Through The Night (Space Ritual version - live)
  9- Orgone Accumulator (Space Ritual version - live)
10- Sonic Attack (Space Ritual version - live)
CD 3:
  1- Ejection
  2- Urban Guerilla (original single)
  3- Brainbox Pollution (Full length version, prev. unreleased)
  4- It's So Easy (original studio version, prev. unreleased)
  5- You'd Better Believe It (Rockfield Studios version)
         - (previously unreleased)
  6- Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear In Smoke)
         - (single version)
  7- Wind Of Change (alternate version, prev. unreleased)
  8- Paradox (remix single edit)
  9- Hall Of The Mountain Grill
10- Lost Johnny (from Hall Of The Mountain Grill)
11- D-Rider (1999 Party version - live)
12- The Watcher (1999 Party version - live)

Hawkwind Website        samples        EMI Records

Oh no! Not another compilation of Hawkwind! We have way too many of those as it is. Every serious fan and collector of all things related to the oldest continuing and arguably greatest space rock band of all times, has long lost the plot about these collections by now. Well, they should try to grab hold of their space marbles again, because Parallel Universe is no ordinary collection. Not because this package contains three discs and a booklet with great liner notes. That's very nice of course, but it's about the contents of Parallel Universe which consists - even after all the reissues and compilations - of no less than twelve previously unreleased tracks and a host of singles, alternative mixes and alternative takes. This makes Parallel Universe a collection not very suitable for the casual listener or newcomer to the music of Hawkwind, but irresistible for the collector who should seriously consider delving in the money pot to purchase it.

Listening to these CDs will bring back the heydays of Dave Brock and his men. Even though you might have heard these songs many times before, the sheer quality of these and the special mixes and takes make you listen with fresh and excited ears. The only thing I don't get is the inclusion of regular tracks which can also be found on recent reissues. The collectors already have these, so this is superfluous for them, and a novice is not going to buy this collection anyway. So why not compile a two-disc package or three discs including more interesting and special material?

*** André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013