Flying Circus - Seasons 25

(CD 2022, 63:51, Fastball Music)

The tracks:
  1- The Jewel City(5:46)
  2- Footprints In The Sand(3:35)
  3- In All Ways And Always(8:14)
  4- Follow The Empress(5:19)
  5- Seasons(5:24)
  6- Antigone's Lament And Triumph(6:34)
  7- Let It Be Gone(4:10)
  8- Interior Monologue(5:47)
  9- Evening Solace(3:23)
10- Supersonic Man(4:28)
11- Never Again(10:12)
12- The Jewel City (Reprise)(0:45)

Website      samples      facebook     

As the title says, Seasons is twenty-five years old; this debut album of the German prog rock band Flying Circus has been completely re-recorded and to cut to the chase immediately, it sounds more than excellent.

Flying Circus's musical inspirations, hard rock, and progressive rock are clearly from the sixties and seventies and obvious audible influences are from notorious bands like ELO, Deep Purple (The Hammond Organ), Pink Floyd, Yes, Uriah Heep, Marillion and even Rush!

Opening track, The Jewel City starts with a “cute” folkish intro, followed by a galloping bass making it hard to sit still while enjoying this track. Footprints In The Sand kicks off with a Hammond organ riff, while In All Ways And Always features a Led Zeppelin-like acoustic guitar intro. Antigone's Lament And Triumph, one of my favs on this album is a real up-tempo rocker featuring an impressive guitar solo, while Let It Be Gone offers a Jon Lord organ momentum indeed!

Seasons 25 is a great prog rock album as it sounds fresher, and the guitars sound heavier, and the vocals are definitely more varied. So, this is a very worthwhile re-recording to enjoy over and over again!

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2023