Dynamo Bliss -
21st Century Junk

(CD 2010, 40:53, Aerodynamic Records AEROCD 001)

The tracks:
  1- Junk Intro
  2- Fear Of Clouds
  3- Closer To The Heart
  4- No Sense In It
  5- Thin Air
  6- Bird of Passage
  7- Mausoleum
  8- White Cherry Hill
  9- Junk Outro

Dynamo Bliss Website        samples        Aerodynamic records

My expectations ran high when I looked at this CD: surely, this must be a mix of King Crimson's prog of 21st Century Schizoid Man and the rock-fusion of Junk Farm. It's a mix alright, but a different one, one for which we don't have a name yet. So I'm calling it boogie-prog! Because, after the quiet Junk Intro, the second track Fear Of Clouds has the tempo and rhythm of a boogie-blues song with a lot of progressive elements in it. After this nice opening salvo, the Swedish trio Dynamo Bliss offers us The Beatles that go melodic with a slight whiff of Moon Safari, but with more expression. Slowly but surely the music goes towards the melodic and softer side of the prog spectrum, with more and more elements of the sixties and flower-power in there. The heaviness of the boogie-prog unfortunately doesn't return, making 21st Century Junk in the end an ideal record for the Sunday morning.

***- André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013