The Dog That Bit People -
The Dog That Bit People

(CD 2010/1971, 47:52, Esoteric Recordings ECLEC 2229)

The tracks:
  1- Goodbye Country
  2- The Monkey And The Sailor
  3- Lovely Lady
  4- Sound Of Thunder
  5- Cover Me In Roses
  6- Someone, Somewhere
  7- A Snapshop Of Rex
  8- Red Queen's Dance
  9- Mister Sunshine
10- Tin Soldier
11- Walking
12- Reptile Man
13- Merry Go Round

Esoteric Recordings

The eponymous album by the British band The Dog That Bit People is yet another re-release of Esoteric Recordings. Originally this album - from the band with the funny name - appeared on the Parlophone-label in 1971. It's the only album from a band that rose from the ashes of the legendary band Locomotive. The core members of The Dog That Bit People were bass player Mick Hinks and drummer Bob Lamb joined by keyboard player Keith Millar and guitarist John Caswell. The album initially failed to sell, but now the original copies of the vinyl albums raise 500 pounds or more among collectors. Musically the album combined harder-edged rock with more subtle acoustic influences. If you like songs from the early Procol Harum, The Moody Blues, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, The Small Faces and The Beatles and you want a pleasant hour of uncomplicated music, this album certainly is a good choice. You'll hear many different styles: short and happy tunes, bluesy guitar solos, Hammond solos and Moog-synthesizers, it's all there on this unique album. Remember your own flower power period, your long hair and the scent of the hallucinating cannabis and you certainly will enjoy this one. The most impressive songs on this album are: Walking, The Monkey And The Sailor and Someone, Somewhere.

**+ Cor Smeets (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013