Devin Townsend Project -

(CD 2016, 64:19, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- Truth(4:47)
  2- Stormbending(5:22)
  3- Failure(6:02)
  4- Secret Sciences(7:28)
  5- Higher(9:40)
  6- Stars(4:18)
  7- Transcendence(5:55)
  8- Offer Your Light(3:58)
  9- From The Heart(8:23)
10- Transdermal Celebration (Cover)(8:26)

Website      facebook      Inside Out Records

The new Devin Townsend album is again heavy and epic, the music grabs you by the throat right from the start and after an hour you can catch your breath and listen to Transcendence again. Townsend's musical style is rather unique and on this album you can enjoy lots of great addictive melodies and excellent instrumental passages. The album kicks off with a new version of the song Truth, which can also be found on the album Infinity, although I prefer this version. A new song Stormbending follows and this one is a real Townsend monster as it sounds like an enormous monolith of sound and should be played at maximum volume. If you like the prog metal side of Townsend you should listen to Secret Sciences and Higher. Both are rather long songs and contain massive guitar riffs, lots of keyboards and great orchestral bombastic passages. Townsend is assisted by Anneke van Giersbergen, Che Aimee Dorval, Katrina Natale and The Tigers In The Tank five piece vocal choir. My favourite track would be the love song From The Heart, an a-typical Townsend song, check it out. Great album again by the Canadian workaholic!!

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Astrid de Ronde)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016