David Cross & David Jackson -
Another Day

(CD 2018, 56:18, Cross & Jackson Music ‎- CJMCD001)

The tracks:
  1- Predator(4:56)
  2- Bushido(1:22)
  3- Last Ride(5:57)
  4- Going Nowhere(4:50)
  5- Trane To Kiev(3:18)
  6- Millennium Toll(5:38)
  7- Arrival(7:49)
  8- Come Again(6:52)
  9- Breaking Bad(4:01)
10- Mr. Morose(4:31)
11- Anthem For Another Day(5:47)
12- Time Gentlemen, Please(1:16)

Website      facebook      Cross & Jackson Music

When you think about King Crimson and Van Der Graaf Generator, you can mention this album too in one breath. As both key-members David Cross and David Jackson were in those bands too. You can hear that. With session bassist Mick Paul and the excellence of drummer Craig Blundell they bring us a beautiful example of how those 2 mentioned bands could have evolved.

As the likes of CK and VDGG are not mine, I can't really get in to this one too. But I don't want to curse in the holy church of prog where those two bands are giants of legendary proportions from the dinosaur age of this music style. Of course you can hear the greatness of these good musicians. And it's sometimes quite nice to listen to as a non-believer. Without a doubt this album will be in the high regions of appreciation.

So, if you like jazzy fusion prog with a lot of wood/brass instruments and a load of (electric) violin to make the whole complete I want to recommend this one to you too. A must have for the CK and VDGG lover.
For me personally 3 stars is the max, but for the fans at least 5 stars.

*** Erik van Os (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2019