The Daedalus Spirit Orchestra -
Ampulla Magnifying

(CD 2009; 63:18; Vocation Records VOC1465)

The tracks:
  1- Visper Aiyo
  2- Shambles Start An End
  3- Azucerodo
  4- Sloganeering
  5- Unrelentingly
  6- Crosstalk
  7- The Clockwork’s Marching Along
  8- Parallel Convergent
  9- Askance Relief

The Daedalus Spirit Orchestra Website        samples       

A French band which such a name and playing prog music? This surely is once again a recipe for a tough listening time! And indeed it is. Not only the album title and the song titles are difficult, but so is the music. In the vein of many of the early French prog rock bands who liked to challenge their listeners, The Daedalus Spirit Orchestra do the same with complex song structures, tempo-breaks and whatever they can think of to throw at the listener. It’s not good, but it’s not bad either, it’s just … difficult music. You need many audio sessions in total relaxation to let this cocktail of jazzy nu-prog penetrate your brain. Luckily, you are helped by the excellent voice of Eric Lorcey that makes many musical passages much easier to stomach. In short, Ampulla Magnifying which sometimes is reminiscent of King Crimson is music for the mature listener.

**+ André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013