Boguslaw Balcerak's Crylord -
Blood Of The Prophets

(CD 2011, 63:57, Lion Music LMC 310)

The tracks:
  1- Ante Bellum Overture(1:50)
  2- Blood Of The Prophets(5:59)
  3- Grave Of Love(4:36)
  4- Bard's Tale(4:58)
  5- Warriors Moon(3:51)
  6- Face Of Destiny(5:08)
  7- The Heretic(3:00)
  8- Behind The Walls Of Sadness(5:52)
  9- Angel Of Divine(4:17)
10- Valley Of The Dead(8:13)
11- When The Time Has Come(5:09)
12- The Healing Hands Of Destruction(6:40)

Boguslaw Balcerak's Crylord Website        Lion Music

Prog rock lovers, beware! This album has nothing to do with progressive rock music whatsoever. Boguslaw Balcerak's Crylord is a Polish power metal band and that is what you get on this album: true neo-classical power metal! Guitar player and band leader Boguslaw Balcerak comes up with twelve classic power metal tracks in the vein of Yngwie Malmsteen. So, listen to it and marvel at huge riffs, fast arpeggios, dynamic rhythms, speedy melodic guitar solos and powerful, dramatic vocal parts. Guest singers on this album are Mark Boals (Yngwie Malmsteen, Ring Of Fire), Carsten Schulz (Evidence One) and Goran Edman (Yngwie Malmsteen, Karmakanic). So if you're into power metal mixed with influences from classical composers like Beethoven, Chopin and Mozart, then you're in for a treat with this album. For me it's all a bit too much as the music sounds rather old-fashioned. All songs tend to sound alike, which is mainly due to the very familiar riffs and guitar melodies. Furthermore I'm not really a fan of the voice of Mark Boals, so four songs sung by him are already too much according to my taste. Best songs are the power ballads Valley Of The Dead and When The Time Has Come, but there's nothing new under the sun! However, for Malmsteen aficionados this debut album of Boguslaw Balcerak's Crylord certainly is a must!

** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013