Corral - Revenant

(CD 2014,63:24, MUSEA 1003)

The tracks:
  1- The Transcendence(2:21)
  2- Music In My Head(5:06)
  3- You Game(4:36)
  4- Silly Naive(3:41)
  5- Lavender Bed(4:07)
  6- Myself(7:01)
  7- Through The Touch(7:08)
  8- Snowy(5:23)
  9- His Eyes(6:35)

Website      facebook      Lynx Music

Corral from Katowice, Poland was founded around 2006. They are a five-piece melodic rock band from with lots of progressive rock elements. The band consists of Agnieszka Kot (lead vocals), Grzegorz Kot (guitar), Krzysiek Cudny (percussion), Piotr Burda (keyboards) and Paweł Burda (bass). Revenant is their debut album released in 2014.

It's striking that all the lyrics are written by the band's female vocalist and the music comes from the other four members of the band. The first song The Transcedence puts you on the wrong track. It starts very atmospheric in the style of Vangelis and Mike Oldfield. But the moment that Agnieszka starts singing and the rest of the musicians make their appearance it sounds very different and modern in the vein of the Dutch band The Gathering. Also the great guitar solo from Gregorz Kot makes the second song Music In My Head immediately impressing. The third song Are You Game? with its catchy chorus is a lot lighter. Lavender Bed has a rough edge. Musical influences from bands like Moonspell or Riverside are easy to decipher. The second half of Revenant has the longer pieces - between 5 and 8 minutes. On Myself I discovered the progressive rock music of Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree. The keyboards and the bass support the drums and voice of Agnieszka in a pleasant way. The last part of the song is rough and edgy caused by the electric guitar hooks and riffs of Gregorz. Highlight of this first album from Corral is the impressive song Through The Touch. All the earlier mentioned elements are combined in this aggressive rock song. Snowy is mystic, edgy, funky, head-banging and another example in which the individual band members show their competence with their instruments. His Eyes-the last song-rocks from beginning till the end although it has some short moments of peace.

You don't have to be a prophet to predict a bright future for the band Corral is my final conclusion.

**** Cor Smeets (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2015