Marc Carlton - Reflex Arc

(CD 2008, 1:04:35, Musea DR8455)

The tracks:
  1- One(5:17)
  2- Two(4:47)
  3- Three(3:25)
  4- Four(5:48)
  5- Five(2:39)
  6- Six(5:39)
  7- Seven(2:10)
  8- Eight(2:37)
  9- Nine(2:54)
10- Ten(4:31)
11- Eleven(4:01)
12- Twelve(2:55)
13- Thirteen(3:50)
14- Fourteen(3:54)
15- Fifteen(7:49)
16- Sixteen(2:10)

Marc Carlton/Madrigal Website        samples        Musea Records

Mike Oldfield and Tangerine Dream have hugely influenced British musician Marc Carlton. Therefore it is no surprise that the music on Reflex Arc is, well.., a mixture of Mike Oldfield and Tangerine Dream, the ambient version, that is. Reflex Arc is a continuous suite containing sixteen pieces. The music is flowing quietly like a gentle stream in the British countryside on a lazy afternoon, without a gust of wind, let alone thunder and lightning. That is exactly the problem with this album: it is all too neat, too level-headed. Not one little note is out of place, it is neither fish nor flesh. Reflex Arc is not boring, but it is also not not boring, if you know what I mean. The CD inlay says to listen to this album ‘in the providence of aural sanctity, less the circle will be broken'. Well, I wish Marc Carlton had broken the circle more often, or at least every now and then.

** André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013