Ballo delle Castagne -

(CD 2011, 42:59; Black Widow Records HRSPQR XXI)

The tracks:
  1- Passioni diaboliche(3:42)
  2- Tutte le anime saranno pesate(4:43)
  3- I giorni della memoria terrena(4:42)
  4- Kalachakra(7:08)
  5- La terra trema(6:55)
  6- La foresta dei suicidi(6:00)
  7- Omega(5:55)
  8- Ballo delle Castagne(3:54)

Ballo delle Castagne Website        Black Widow Records

Ballo delle Castagne is an Italian musical ensemble founded in 2008, featuring Vinz Aquarian on voice (Calle della Morte), Marco Garegnani on guitar, Moog, keyboard and sitar (The Green Man), Diego Banchero on bass (Egida Aurea, Recondita Stirpe, Malombra, Segno del Comando, ZESS) and Jo Jo on drums. Kalachakra is part of a trilogy, of which the first part, 108, was released in 2009 and the third part, the Epic of Gilgamesh, is expected in 2012. The trilogy is inspired by the Werner Herzog documentary Kalachakra: The Wheel Of Time which amongst other things, deals with the power of images and is blessed by the words of his holiness The Dalai Lama and we felt for the first time part of this world“ (says Vinz). The sound of Kalachakra is close to kraut rock music (Popol Vuh, Amon Duul II , Can) and at the same time inspired by the West Coast psychedelic scene of the 70's (Yahowha 13, The Doors) with lots of oriental influences. The total picture sounds like a bunch of sitar players in a musical by Walt Disney being performed in Hamburg. Or, in other words, if you are into theatrical plays you will like this record, all the more when if understand the Italian language. If you don't, you should give Ballo delle Castagne a miss. 

** André de Waal (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013