Argos - Argos

(CD 2009, 53:00, Musea FGBG 4773)

The tracks:
  1- Killer(04:36)
  2- The King of Ghosts(05:09)
  3- Black Cat(03:37)
  4- A Name in the Sand(04:22)
  5- Core Images(05:09)
  6- The Hat goes North(02:43)
  7- Young Person's Guide to Argos(03:56)
  8- Ten Fingers Overboard(03:10)
  9- Norwegian Stone Shortage(03:03)
10- Further Apart(02:22)
11- Time for Love(03:48)
12- Meet the Humans(02:26)
13- Electro-Wagner(02:41)
14- Passing Through(05:27)

Argos Website        samples        Musea Records

The debut album of this German band truly reminds me of the good old seventies. When you listen to songs like Young Persons Guide To Argos or Ten Fingers Overboard, the influences of Camel are evident. Other bands Argos seems to admire are Caravan, Genesis and the early seventies Pink Floyd. The album contains nice vocal harmonies, melodic guitar parts and heavenly flute passages. However, if you are looking for something new you can better forget about Argos. The music is okay, but probably you’ll have heard it all before. Personally, I like the four instrumentals on this album the best, although Electro – Wagner is a kind of weird track.

*** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013