AniLo.Projekt - Miracle

(CD 2011, 50:39, DOTT Music, DOTT 201111)

The tracks:
  1- A Miracle Is All We Need(4:35)
  2- Angels(4:06)
  3- Ark Of The Covenant(5:05)
  4- Cannot Fall Asleep(4:07)
  5- Cry Over(4:23)
  6- Fly(5:30)
  7- Give In To Me(4:35)
  8- Innocent Minds(4:12)
  9- Slip Away(4:11)
10- What You Sow Is What You Reap(4:39)
11- A Miracle Is All We Need(5:11)

Dott Music

AniLo.Projekt is a Bulgarian gothic and orchestral metal rock band of which I'd never heard before. The band consists of four mail members and female singer Anilo. Therefore you might compare the sound of this group to well-known gothic bands like Nightwish, Within Temptation, Lacuna Coil and Evanescence. However, this Bulgarian project doesn't reach the same high musical level as these bands. I think there are far too many bands that deliver average albums like Miracle. The music is very predictable and really lacks any form of originality, diversity and depth.

The rather epic material of Miracle was produced by no one less than mister Ian Parry (Elegy, Hammerhead), who was also involved in the process of song writing. Stephan Lill, guitar picker of Vanden Plas, contributed to this album as well with a couple of speedy solos, but in spite of that the music is rather boring and - I repeat myself - too predictable. Give In To Me, a cover of Michael Jackson, is an absolute disaster. This song really shouldn't have been on this album, I think. Miracle ends with an acoustic piano version of the opening piece called A Miracle is All We Need and here you can 'enjoy' the voice of Ian Parry. Next time a bit more power and originality, please. Last but not least: the album cover is rather horrible and childish: a naked woman with a sword...

** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013