Ahmshere - Mindless Trust

(CD 2012, 64:13, Private Release)

The tracks:
  1- Falling Of The Edge(6:29)
  2- Momentum(6:58)
  3- Counter Attack(8:51)
  4- Mindless Trust(7:36)
  5- Apollo & Daphne(8:54)
  6- A Dark Soul(9:07)
  7- Balance(6:19)
  8- Stronger Than Before(9:42)

Website        Facebook

Ahmshere are a brand new prog rock band from the Netherlands formed in March 2012 and consisting of Chris Henny (vocals, guitars), Marco de Neijs (guitars), Rien Fierst (keyboards, vocals), Frans Ellinger (bass) and Senne Bergsma (drums, see interview). Their debut album Mindless Trust  was released at the end of 2012.

From the moment I heard the first notes of this CD I noticed that Ahmshere are a professional sounding band that recorded a mature album. All of the eight compositions sound very strong, although the band's influences, like for instance the Canadian band Rush, have left their traces on these compositions. The first two tracks Falling Of The Edge and Momentum are certainly influenced by Rush. From time to time even the lead vocals sound like Geddy Lee, but also the early albums made by Marillion have left their mark on Ahmshere's music. The keyboards on Counter Attack sound as if Mark Kelly had played them. Throughout the album the keyboards have a rather large role providing the music a real prog rock sound. Listen for example to the title track and you know what I mean.

It's obvious that the music of Ahmshere contains great duels between the guitar and the keyboards, for instance on a track like Apollo & Daphne. This track shows that they're skilled musicians. Of course they still have a long way to go, but hitherto their debut is of an international level. And that's something I cannot always say about debut albums! To me Ahmshere was a new discovery that I enjoyed a lot. Weekly I receive a lot of musical crap, but getting more albums like Mindless Trust in my mailbox will make reviewing worthwhile and a pleasure to do. From an album like Mindless Trust I get a big smile on my face knowing that I don't have to be afraid that no new prog talents will show up! So thumbs up for the musicians of Ahmshere!

**** Henri Strik (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013