Agents Of Mercy -
The Fading Ghosts Of Twilight

(CD 2009, 77:50, Foxtrot FOX CD 029)

The tracks:
1- The Fading Ghosts Of Twilight(07:29)
2- The Unwanted Brother(05:45)
3- Afternoon Skies(04:01)
4- Heroes And Beacons(09:06)
5- Jesus On The Barricades(04:03)
6- Wait For The Sun(05:17)
7- A Different Sun(08:08)
8- Ready To Fly(04:53)
9- People Like Us(04:54)
10- A Soldiers Tale(11:48)
11- Bomb Inside Her Heart(04:25)
12- Mercy & Mercury(07:56)

Agents Of Mercy Website & samples        Foxtrot Records

Agents Of Mercy is a new project of Roine Stolt (Flower Kings). Well, to me the twelve varied and melodic songs sound as a blend of progressive pop, art-rock (Queen, 10CC), symphonic rock (Genesis, Procol Harum) and modern progressive rock (Spock’s Beard, Flower Kings). Stolt arranged the music very tastefully with a wide range of instrumentation. He uses many vintage keyboards, but also ukelele and fretless bass played by Flower King Jonas Reingold. Nad Sylvan’s (Unifaun) vocals sound inspired, the lyrics often have a cynical meaning. We can enjoy different atmospheres in the compositions: from dreamy and slow rhythms to bombastic. Stolt delivers many fiery and biting guitar solos along parts on the acoustic guitar, lap steel guitar and ukelele. Keyboardist Biggo Zelfries plays an important role by pleasantly colouring the songs with minimoog, Hammond, mellotron and piano. His playing adds a typical touch of the seventies to the music. This is especially the case in the title track, Heroes & Beacons and Bomb Inside Her Heart. This album, consisting of modern and accessible progressive rock music, will probably appeal to many prog heads.

***+ Erik Neuteboom (edited by Peter Willemsen)
Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013